Finley High School logo

Finley High School

Finley High School

Wisdom is Strength

Telephone03 5883 1344

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Curriculum Structure of the Senior School

IXL : Students in Years 11 and 12 have three consecutive periods a week of quiet study in the library.  This takes place on either a Wednesday or a Thursday. Students have a log book in which they write down their goals for IXL periods. Subject teachers assign work to be done in IXL, however, students can choose to do this or assignments, but all work must be completed by the next subject lesson.  Teachers are also available during IXL for one on one help with course work.  

Senior Prospectus 2018-2019 (DOCX 4MB)

Related content